Last (Graded) Week: My Few Months In Review

Generally, no blog-having adult cares to hear the feverish rantings of a college freshman, raving about Shakespeare all SJW’d. I chose to write that way anyway because I was asked to choose something I was passionate about, something I could talk about, something I thought should be covered. Attached to this choice was the understanding that I wasn’t going to get hits. I wasn’t going to get followers. Again: college freshman, raving, diversity in Shakespeare. Not thrilling for 99% of the populace.

Well, I wasn’t wrong. (For anyone actually dedicated to my Shakespeare musings, sorry, but this is a quick statistics recap that has nothing to do with character or plot choices. You might want to roam elsewhere on this blog.) My views never got over 30, and more depressingly (well, I’m not that disappointed, but I guess), my visitors never got over 15. I can guarantee you that’s just from me obsessively checking my own blog to make sure that images appeared normally, or that I didn’t leave out a word or anything.

2017-04-27

By far my most popular week was the week of February 27th, with 28 views among 12 visitors. That Friday, March 3rd, I posted one of my favorite posts, examining Puck and Oberon’s relationship, and relating it to how it was presented in Dominic Dromgoole’s production and how it stands up as plot-relevant. This is the only post I’ve put on Facebook. This is where I’m friends with my high school English teachers and, well, my mom, so it figures that my posts would get more traction there, but at the same time, I often don’t like sharing my work there unless I’m certain it will be received well, and… I just don’t know. I’m not always the proudest of these pieces, having wished I could have articulated my thoughts better, and I don’t exactly need my right-wing cousins to criticize my decisions to focus on racial minorities. (“Well, why couldn’t a white person play Cassius?” I can hear their voices in my head.) So while Facebook could have made my blog more successful (in a way), I don’t regret choosing to promote solely on Twitter.

More on that: even though my big March 3rd spike was from Facebook referrals, because I promoted most consistently on Twitter, that’s where I got the most referrals cumulatively (38 total instead of Facebook’s 12.) After that, the referrals came mostly from my university’s online class resource page, where I submit these posts to be graded by my TA. (I see you, Andrea, hello!)

Surprisingly, one of my most popular posts, the one after which I actually started getting followers, was my slideshow showcase of my “saint’s relics” (thank you Deidre), or my Shakespeare knick-knacks collection. Whether this was because Deidre interacted with my Twitter promotion and some of her clan came ambling over or because people are genuinely more interested in my possessions than my ideas, I still don’t know.

So yeah, not a lot of traffic. But in a way, it was still just as fun and just as helpful. I know now some of the social media impacts on content promotion. I’ve fleshed out a writing style when it comes to blogging and I know how I like to approach promotion now. Most of all, this forced me to continually think about Shakespeare in a creative way–it really made me immerse myself in his work again, and inspired me to keep going in my truly, truly nerdy hobby. These plays are hundreds and hundreds of years old and I can still connect with them. That’s the magic of this blog. I’m not too concerned about the numbers.

Leave a Reply

